ונתנה תוקף

על אמונה ומסורת

Unetane Tokef

About Belief and Tradition

ונתנה תוקף

Who by Fire

למען הסר כל ספק – אינני דתית כלל, גם לא מאמינה. מבחינתי, חשוב לי לשמור מסורת כי נולדתי יהודיה בגלגול הזה. אולי בעתיד אהיה כושיה או סינית או… מה אני יודעת?
המסורת היא חלק מהתרבות שלי. ספרי הקודש שוכנים כבוד בארון הספרים שלי. השאלה, מה היא תרבות, מעסיקה אותי ללא הרף. אני מניחה שאעלה מאמר נרחב בנושא הזה בנפרד.

To be absolutely clear – I'm not at all religious, nor am I a believer. As far as I'm concerned, it is important for me to keep the tradition, since I was born a Jew in this reincarnation. Maybe, in the future, I will be a black woman or Chinese or… what do I know? Gurnish.

Tradition is a part of my culture. The holy books have a place of honour on my bookcase. The question, what is culture, constantly occupies me. I will probably post a broad article on this issue separately at some point.

יש לי רתיעה טבעית מטקסים כפויים, כאלה ש"מוכרחים לקיים ולא…" למדתי שממש לא מוכרחים כלום, חוץ מלמות, שזה בלתי נמנע, כפי שאמי ז"ל נהגה לומר. לא הטקסים חשובים, לדעתי, אלא הכוונה.

I have a natural resentment towards compulsory ceremonies, such as those that "must be performed, otherwise…" I have learned that nothing "must be", except for dying, which is unavoidable, as my late mother used to say. In my opinion, it is not the ceremonies that are important, but the meaning.
בבית כנסת אחד בפינצ'לי, לונדון, ב-2006, היה לי נורא לשמוע את המלמול החפוז של מי ששימש כבעל תפילה, שקרא כמי שכפאו שד. רק מפני כבודו וכבודי התאפקתי מלהלבין פניו ברבים ולעלות לקרוא במקומו כדי שגם אלה שאינם שומעים היטב או בקיאים בתפילות יבינו את הנאמר. לשאלתי, בצד, לאחר התפילה, למה הוא קורא במהירות כזו שאינה מועילה לאף אחת/ד, ענה, שכמו שאר הקהילה, גם הוא ממהר לעבודתו וכי בא להתפלל בבוקר כדי להשלים מנין. לא ביטאתי בקול את המחשבה שחלפה בראשי, שעדיף בלי מנין, אך שתהיה כוונה, שהתפילה תהיה מכל הלב ולא מתוך יציאת ידי חובה.

In 2006, at a synagogue in Finchley, London, I found it horrible to listen to the hasty murmur of the person who served as a prayer leader (Jewish liturgy) and read as if someone put a gun to his head. It was only out of respect for us both, that I restrained myself from embarrassing him and didn't go to read in his place in order that those who could not comprehend him would also understand the prayers. Later, after the service, aside in a corner, I asked him why he always reads so quickly, at a speed that benefits nobody. His answer was, that like the rest of the congregation, he is in a hurry to get to work and he comes to the morning service, the Shacharit, to complete a Minyan. I didn't express loudly the thought that crossed my mind, that it is better without a Minyan, but with a meaning, that the prayer should be going out wholeheartedly and not doing it just because it has to be done.

אשתקד, בבית הכנסת הליברלי של קינגסטון KLS, למדתי על יהדות חופשית, ליברלית, מקסימה, שאינה כובלת ומה שנעשה – מתוך כוונה גדולה נעשה. הדרשות של הרבא הצעירה, צ'ארלי, מלאות תבונה ותרבות. אחת הבדיחות שלמדתי ממנה: מהי מהות החגים היהודיים? הם ניסו להורגנו, הם לא הצליחו, הבה נאכל (They tried to kill us, they didn't succeed, let's eat). טקסי הפולחן נעשים בהומור, בשמחה ובהרבה-הרבה אהבה לאשה, לאיש ולטף.

Last year, at the KLS (Kingston Liberal Synagogue, Surrey, England), I learned about free Judaism, liberal, charming, which does not confine and I witnessed services of significance and great meaning. The sermons which the young Rabba Charley gave were full of wisdom and culture. One of the jokes I learned from her was: "What is the essence of Jewish holidays? They tried to kill us, they didn't succeed, let's eat." The ceremonies are held with humour, joy and a lot of love for women, men and children.

אני שייכת לדור עליו השניאו הדתיים את הדת, הדור שגדל לבוז לכל מה שנודף ממנו ריח של דת, כולל האנשים עצמם, הדתיים, בבחינת "שומרת נפשה תרחק מהמה", אולי מאימה? יחד עם זאת, החיים התגלגלו להם והיה לי רב כשותף לעסקים. בפגישותינו, היינו מחליפים מדי פעם דברים שברומה של תורה. ילדי המתוק, בן 4 אז, שהאזין לדברי גדולים ממנו, שאל בתמימותו: "אמא, מה זה אלוהים?" כמובן שזה היה למשוש לבי על שהצלחתי לא לנטוע אמונות תפלות בלבו הרך, אך הרב היה כולו חרדות ופלצות. "אוי-אוי-אוי", קונן בשברון לב, "אוי ואבוי" (הלהקה הבריטית הזו לא היתה קיימת אז עדיין…), "ילד יהודי אינו יודע על קיום השם?" "מה אתה רוצה", התרסתי בפניו בעוז רוחי, "אני חילונית, לא חרדית וחיה בהתאם! אך חכה רגע לפני שאתה שופט!" מיהרתי להוסיף למראה הבעת פניו המזועזעת, "אני שומרת על כשרות ולא אוכלת שפנים…" זה לא עזר לי, הוא עזב את השותפות איתי. זכותו. מדי פעם, אני פוגשת בו בכניסה לבית הקברות בחולון, מקבץ מצוות בתפילות לנשמות המתים תמורת סכומים נדיבים. תורתו אומנותו? בכל אופן, מה אנחנו יודעים על זולתנו מלבד מה שאנו רואים בחיצוניות?

I belong to the generation to whom people with rigid religious views have caused us to become loathsome of religion, the generation who was brought up to despise anything that smells of religion, including the people themselves, the religious ones. I deliberately kept myself away from them. At the same time, life went on its course and I had a Rabbi as a business associate. In our meetings we used to occasionally discuss issues of the Torah. My sweet little child, then age 4, who was listening to his elders, asked innocently: "Mommy, what is G-d?" Of course I was thrilled for I had succeeded in not planting any superstitions in his young tender heart, but the Rabbi was completely in shock. "Oy-oy-oy", he mourned with a broken heart, "OY Va Voy!" (well, this great British group was not established yet…) "A Jewish child doesn’t know about the existence of G-d?!?" "What do you want", I protested firmly, "I am secular, not religious, and live my life accordingly! But wait before you judge!" I hurried to add to the stunned expression on his face, "I do keep kosher and I don't eat bunnies…" It didn't help me, he left our partnership. Well, he is entitled to. From time to time, I meet him at the entrance of the cemetery in Holon, where he collects Mitzvoth in exchange for generous amounts of money. Well, what do we know about other people except for what we see externally?

מאז, מים רבים זרמו והבנתי כמה דברים על עצמי. אני עדיין לומדת. האשה הראשונה שלי היתה דתית מהזרם האורתודוקסי, אך חופשית בנשמתה. ללא כפיה ומתוך אהבה רבה, השפיעה עלי מחסדיה ולמדתי ממנה רבות. כך קרבה אותי אהובתי אל הטקסטים היהודיים המקסימים וגילתה לי נסתרות, תרתי משמע. אני מכירה לה טובה רבה מאוד על שלא ניסתה לשנות אותי, אלא העשירה את עולמי התרבותי. אכן, מכל מלמדי השכלתי.

Since then, a lot of water ran under the bridge and I understood a few things about myself. I am still learning. My first woman was religious from the orthodox stream, but a free soul. Without any coercion and with a lot of love she showered me with her favours and revealed concealed secrets, double meanings. I am very grateful to her for not trying to change who I was, but she enriched my cultural world. Indeed, one can learn from everybody.

♀♀
יום הכיפורים, לגבי דידי, הוא גם המלחמה ההיא, חודשיים לפני השחרור מהצבא. טובעת במברקים הבהולים, המשתלשלים להם מכל הטלפרינטרים בחדר הענק, אינני מוצאת מנוחה, מתרוצצת ממכשיר אחד למשנהו, טלפונים נבהלים נובחים עלי רמות ומן העבר השני מתנפלים עלי בצריחות חדות לחקור אם קיבלתי את המברק הבהול ההוא ולמה לא שיגרתיו הלאה. הנה זה נשלח ומגיעים מאה תחתיו. מה בס"ה רציתי? להעביר את משמרת השבת בשלוה בקריאת הספרים שהבאתי איתי, אך למה שיניחו לי לנפשי? אין מנוחה לצדיקות…

For me, Yom Kippur is also that war, two months before I was being released from the army. Drowning in urgent telegrams which were hanging from all the teleprinters in the huge room, I couldn't find any rest, running around from one device to another, alarming phone calls barking loudly at me and I am attacked by screams from the other end enquiring if I received that urgent telegram and why didn't I transfer it on. I'm sending this one, but another hundred arrive instead. What had I wished for? Just for tranquillity over the Sabbath shift to read the books I brought with me. But why would I be left to my own devices? No rest for the saintly…

♀♀

גמר חתימה טובה לכולנו. מי יתן ונכתב בספר החיים הטובים ותהיינה לנו שנים טובות ופרנסה בשפע.

אמן!

Gmar Chatima Tova (May we be signed for the good) to all of us. May we be written in the book of good life and may we have many good years of plenty.

Amen!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

תגובות

  • אביב רוס  On 29 בספטמבר 2009 at 0:25

    יפה ונכון
    כן ירבו. הנה כתבה בנושא שפורסמה בעיתון הארץ.
    http://haaretz.com/hasen/spages/1117378.html

  • שרון הר פז  On 29 בספטמבר 2009 at 9:17

    קראתי
    ואפילו בלי לשבור אף ריס…
    אני בהחלט בעד מדינה חילונית, אך בלי לאבד את הצביון היהודי והציוני שלנו, כי הזהויות הללו חשובות להמשך קיומנו כיהודים, אחרת מה? אפשר לומר שאין כל רע באיחוד האומות ו/או בהתבוללות, אך כל עוד קמים עלינו להשמידנו, כמו אותו פרסי ארור, שאת שמו קשה לי לבטא, ומן הסתם הוא מזרעו של המן הרשע – עלינו לשמור על צביוננו.

Trackbacks

כתיבת תגובה

