יום בחיים

A Day in the Life

Oy vey!!!

Oy vey!!!

יום בחיים, כ"ח בתשרי ה'תשע"ו (11.10.15).

הבוקר בא אחרי לילה שקט יחסית אצלנו. היו לי כמה דברים דחופים לעשות, כמו לשמור על היבולים בפארם טאון שלא ירדו לטמיון, כך שלא יצא לי להתעדכן בחדשות, לא על פיצוץ המכונית על הבוקר וגם לא מה עשתה נבחרת ישראל אתמול נגד נבחרתה של קפריסין. אינני מחוברת לשום עדכונים, משום שאינני אוהבת את ההפרעות הללו כל כמה שניות ואת המידע הזורם ללא הרף. אם אני רוצה להתעדכן, אני עושה זאת בזמני החופשי ולא באילוץ. כמה שזה היה חשוב לגאוה הלאומית שלנו, ממש לא התעניינתי. כשהייתי צעירה, אהבתי לצפות בכדורגל (וגם לשחק), אך עם השנים הפך המשחק להיות משעמם כל כך, שסבלנותי כבר אינה יכולה להכיל. היה די הזוי אמש: כל היום טרור ודקירות בבירה, ואילו בלילה – משחק כדורגל בין ארצי עם אבטחה חסרת תקדים, כפי שהצהירו הכותרות. הזוי, אך החיים נמשכים למרות גל הטרור העובר עלינו. אנו נתגבר!

A Day in the Life, 28 Tishrey 5776 (11.10.15).

The morning comes after a relatively quiet night in our area. I had some urgent tasks to attend to, like watching the crops in FarmTown to prevent them to go to waste; therefore, I didn't have the chance to update with the news. Not about the car explosion earlier, and not even what was the score in the football game between the Israeli and the Cyprian teams. I'm not connected to any updates, because I don't like being interrupted every second, or the information streaming continuously. If I wish to be updated, I do it in my free time and not by being pushed. Despite the importance to the national Israeli pride, I wasn't interested. When I was young, I loved watching football (as well as playing), but as the years went by the game became so boring, that my tolerance can't stand in this torture anymore. It was quite hallucinatory yesterday: all day long terror attacks and stabbings in our capital, but in the evening – a football match with unprecedented security, as the headlines declared. Hallucinatory, but life goes on despite this terror wave we are going through. We shall overcome!

Vey oy!! אוי ואבוי

Vey oy!! אוי ואבוי

נדברתי עם השכנה לצאת לקניות, אך היא הבריזה לי, החצופה. בעקבות כך, התערער קשות מקומה בצוואתי. למרות זאת, החלטתי לרדת לחדרה באוטובוס, משום שכמעט ולא נשאר לי כלום ומה אני יודעת איזה מצור עלול ליפול עלינו ולא נוכל לנסוע בדרכים כלל.

I planned to go shopping with one of my neighbours, but she stood me up, the cheeky. Consequently, she can be assured that her share in my will had severely undermined. However, I decided to go to Hadera by bus, because I have almost nothing left, and I can't be sure what kind of a siege might fall upon us and we won't be able to drive in the roads at all.

בעודי מכינה עצמי לצאת, מתקשרת אלי כלתי לדרוש בשלומי בימים טרופים אלו. בשל כך, מקומה בצוואתי מובטח מאוד! אני מרגיעה אותה שהתקרית הבטחונית בקציר (שלא קיבלנו עליה פרטים ואין לנו מושג מה ארע בה), לא נשנתה, לפחות לא בצורה גלויה, כי לא קיבלנו מאז שום עדכון על בעיות חדשות. היא מספרת לי על מה שקרה הבוקר, על הפיצוץ, מביעה את דאגתה ושואלת אם לא אוכל לדחות את נסיעתי. בכל זאת, אוטובוס, לא משהו בטוח כעת. גם מכונית אינה דבר בטוח, אני עונה לה, ואולי אפילו אופציה עוד יותר גרועה, אבל אין ברירה, אני צריכה לאכול לפעמים ולכן עלי לחדש את המלאי. למרות געגועי העזים לנכדי ורצוני העז לבלות איתם, לא היא ולא אני מציעות שאגיע אליהם היום. בדרך כלל, אני מבקרת אצלם בשעות אחר הצהריים, כשהנכדים חוזרים מהגנים, ומתנחלת לארבע שעות שלמות, עד שהאוטובוס האחרון לקציר, היוצא בשמונה בלילה, מגיע לאסוף אותי. במצב הנוכחי, עדיף להמנע מלהסתובב בואדי ערה בשעות הערב. לא ששעות היום בטוחות יותר…

While preparing myself to go out, my daughter-in-law calls to ask how I am doing in these chaotic days. Her share in my will is very certain! I assure her that the security incident (on which we didn't get any details, and we have not a clue what happened there), didn't repeat, at least not publically, because we haven't got any update about new incidents ever since. She tells me about the car explosion this morning, expresses her concern and asks if I can't postpone my trip. After all, it's a bus, not something safe currently. A car is not a safe thing either, I reply, and perhaps even a worse option, but I have no choice, I need to eat sometimes, therefore I must renew my inventory. Despite that I miss my grandchildren very much and despite my strong craving to see them, neither she nor me suggests that I'd come to see them today. Usually, I visit them in the afternoon, when my grandchildren are back from kindergarten, and then I settle there for four whole hours, until night time, when the last bus from Kazir comes at eight o'clock to collect me. In the current situation, it's best to avoid wandering around Vadi Ara in the evening. Mind you, it's not safe during the day either…

Such a great solution איזה פתרון מצוין

Such a great solution
איזה פתרון מצוין

הנהג הלוקח אותנו חדרתה רציני מאוד. שלא כהרגלו, הוא מקבל את פני בפנים חתומות ואינו מחייך אלי, בקושי מניד בראשו לברכת השלום שלי. אני מתארת לעצמי שלא קל להיות ערבי במצב הנוכחי. הרדיו כבוי. הנסיעה עוברת בשתיקה גמורה. הנוסעים, עיניהם תקועות במסכי הטלפונים הסלולריים, עסוקים בהתעדכנות ובהעברת מסרים. הכל בהיכון. אני מביטה מבעד לחלון, מקבלת בנחת את השמש הלוטפת את פני ונהנית מהנוף. זוהי חבל ארץ יפהפיה. הלואי והיתה גם שלוה. הנסיעה עוברת.

The driver who takes us to Hadera is very solemn. Not as usual, he welcomes me with no smile, his face sealed. He barely nods after I greet him. I imagine that it's not easy to be an Arab in the current situation. The radio is turned off. The trip passes in a total silence. The passengers, their eyes stuck in their cellular screens, are occupied with updating and text messaging. Everybody is alert. I look through the window, pleasantly receiving the caressing sun and enjoy the view. It's a beautiful land. If only it was peaceful too. The trip passes.

אני נכנסת לחנות הנשק בחדרה במטרה לקנות לעצמי אקדח גז מדמיע. בעל המקום הגנב מנצל את המצב כדי לעשות עלינו קופה. לא עלי! אין לי כוונה להוציא על זה 300 ₪ (!!!), כשהמחיר נמוך בהרבה. על מיכל הגז הוא רצה 150 ₪, בעוד שזה אמור להיות המחיר של האקדח עם 2 מיכלים. גנב! הוא מנצל את העובדה שהוא היחיד באזורנו, ממש גועל נפש! אני יוצאת בפחי נפש, אך נחושה לחפש באינטרנט. אם אצטרך, אסע לתל אביב כדי לרכוש את זה. הנסיעה באוטובוס לא תעלה לי 150 ₪.

I'm going to the weapon shop in order to buy myself a tear gas gun. The owner exploits the situation to rip us of. Not me! I have no intention to spend 300 ILS (!!!) on this, when the price is much lower. He wanted 150 ILS on the gas container, when this should be the price of the gun with 2 gas containers. What a thief! He exploits the situation because he's the only gun seller in our region. Really disgusting! Disappointment, I leave the shop, but decisive to search on the internet. If I'll have to, I'd go to Tel Aviv to purchase this. The bus fee won't cost me 150 ILS.

אני סועדת את לבי במסעדה מצוינת. ארוחת הצהרים טעימה לי מאוד, גם אם זה בגפי. סביבי, המולת הסועדים האחרים. גם הם, לא כולם סועדים עם מישהו/י. אני אוהבת להביט באנשים, לראות את שפת הגוף שלהם, איך הם מתקשרים זה עם זה או עם זו או כיצד אינם מתקשרים. יש המנהלים שיחה ערה ביניהם ויש השותקים, אחרים מחליפים פה ושם הברות זה או זו לעבר זה או זו (ושאר הקומבינציות האפשריות), כאלה הנועצים עיניהם במסכי הטלפונים הסלולריים שלהם במקום בעיני חבריהם לסעודה. יש כל מיני. לפעמים אני מחברת לעצמי דיאלוגים דמיוניים של מה הם עשויים לומר זה לזה או מה הם נמנעים מלומר. אותי זה מרתק.

I'm having lunch in a nice restaurant. The meal is very delicious, even if I'm having it by myself. Around me, the turmoil of the other diners. They too, not all of them have partners. I like to watch people, see their body language, how they communicate with each other, or how they don't communicate. Some conduct a vivid conversation with each other and some are silent, others exchange a few syllables with each other here and there, some stare at their cellular screens instead of looking at their dinner partners. There are all kinds of dinners. Sometimes I make up imaginary dialogues of what they might say to each other, or what they avoid of saying. I find it fascinating.

בדרכי אל הסופרמרקט וממנו, אני סוקרת את הרחוב בקפידה ומביטה תכופות מעבר לכתפי, מוכנה להדוף כל מתקפה של איזשהו מטורף ערבי שנפשו המסוכסכת תחשק להזיק לי. גם בקבוק מיץ תפוזים של שני ליטר עשוי לשמש כנשק בעת מצוקה. לא שיש לי עבר קרבי, אך שלם לא יצא המופרע מעימות עימי.

הרחוב שקט ואני עוברת את המסע הקצר בשלום.

On my way to the supermarket and later to the bus stop, I keep a close watch on the street and look frequently over my shoulders, ready to push back any attack of any lunatic Arab whose embroiled confused soul wishes to harm me. A two litter orange juice bottle might also be a weapon in time of need. Even though I'm lack of a Combat experience, such a disturbed drek won't come out complete of a confrontation with me.

The street is quiet and I pass my short journey peacefully.

עמוסת מצרכים, אני עולה על האוטובוס של 14:40. הנהג היהודי פטפטן, כהרגלו, מביע את דעתו על המצב ומעיר את הערותיו הבלתי מחמיאות נגד הערבושים הטרוריסטים. הוא אינו מבייש שום סטראוטיפ של נהג מונית, למרות שהוא נוהג באוטובוס. אני מכירה כמה נהגי אוטובוס מאוד אינטליגנטים, הוא אינו נמנע עליהם. סוג כזה של אנשים אינו עושה לי טוב. אני נמנעת מלהכנס איתו לויכוח, כי אין בזה שום טעם. כפי שהלה מנסח זאת – הוא היה מפטר את כל הערבים משום שהוא מאמין בכל לבו שלא מגיע להם להתפרנס מאיתנו, ושולח אותם לְסֶגֶר בָּחוֹרים שלהם.

Loaded with necessary groceries, I'm catching the 14:40 bus. The Jewish driver is chatterbox as usual. He expresses his opinion regarding the situation and comments non-flattering comments against the Arabushes terrorists. He doesn't shame the stereotype of any taxi driver, even though he drives a bus. I do know some intelligent bus drivers, he is not one of them. This kind of people does not do me good. I avoid of entering into any discussion with his, since there's no point doing so. As he put it – he would fire all the Arabushes from their jobs, because he strongly thinks they shouldn't make any living from us Jews, and would send them to be locked in their holes.

Paul McCartney – A Day in the Life

אני חוזרת הביתה בשלום. מארגנת את המצרכים במקומם, מתקלחת וממהרת להתחבר לפארם טאון כדי להציל את היבולים בטרם יבלו. לצערי, חלק לא חיכה לי ונבל כפי שאפשר לראות בתמונות למעלה. אני עסוקה במרוץ נגד השעון כדי להציל כמה שיותר ומתרכזת בהקלקות.

I get home peacefully. I'm putting away the groceries, take a shower and hurry to connect to FarmTown in order to save the crops before they would go to waste. Sadly, some didn't wait for me and wasted, as you can see in the pictures above. I'm busy racing against the clock in order to save as much as I can, and am concentrating in the clicking.

הטלפונים מתחילים לטרטר. כלתי החַדֵרָתית, זו מהבוקר, מתקשרת לבדוק אם הגעתי הביתה בשלום. בני הצעיר מתעניין גם הוא בשלומי. אף אחד מהם אינו מרחיב מעבר לכך, רק מביע את דאגתו לשלומי. גם השכנה שהוצאתי מצוואתי הבוקר מתקשרת לברר אם אני עדיין בחיים. מן הסתם דואגת זו לחלקה בצוואה. אני מתפלאת על ההתעניינות המסיבית הזו והיא מסבה את תשומת לבי לארוע שבחדשות. הייתי עסוקה בחווֹת ולכן לא שמעתי שהיה פיגוע דריסה ודקירה בתחנה של גן שמואל. אני מניחה ליבולים לנפשם ונצמדת לחדשות. התחנה בגן שמואל היא אחת מהתחנות של האוטובוס לקציר וממנה ואני מוצאת את עצמי לא אחת עולה עליו משם.

The telephones start to rattle. My daughter-in-law from Hadera, the one from the morning, calls to check if I made it home safely. My younger son is also interesting in my wellbeing. Neither elaborates beyond that, both just express their concern about me. The neighbour I took out from my will this morning calls too to find if I'm still alive. She probably cares about her share in my will. I am surprised from this massive attention, and she draws my attention to the incident on the news. I was too busy with the farms, therefore I hadn't heard that there was a running over and stabbing incident at the Gan Shmuel bus stop, near the Kibbutz. I leave the crops to themselves and cling to the news. The bus stop near Gan Shmuel is one of the bus stops on the way to and from Kazir, and I frequently use it to go home.

סלפי בתחנת גן שמואל  Selfie at Gan Shmuel bus stop

סלפי בתחנת גן שמואל
Selfie at Gan Shmuel bus stop

אני חושבת על העובדים הערביים האדיבים והנחמדים שהכרתי במתחם הקניות שמעבר לכביש, כמו אלה בטויס אר אס. אולי הם חוששים לצאת הביתה מפחד ההמון. הקרין המפגר שואל מישהו מהקיבוץ לתחושות התושבים ונראה מאוכזב מהתשובות המתונות. מה הוא רצה לשמוע, שאנשי הקיבוץ הנורמליים ישתגעו כמו אנשי הימין ויצאו לנקום בערבים שידם לא היתה במעל? הייתי שמחה לשמוע רק דיווחים ופירושים, אך לא הסתה. למזלנו, כאן הרוב שפוי ושוחר שלום ואין לצפות שיקום מאן דהוא לכלות את תסכולו באנשים חפים מפשע. ערבים הם בני אדם, גם הדבר אם מפריע למאן דהוא.

I'm thinking about the nice polite Arabs workers I knew at the shopping complex across the road, like the ones at Toys R Us. Perhaps they are scared to go home, fearing the crowd. The imbecile TV presenter asks somebody from the Kibbutz about the feelings of the members, and seems disappointed from the moderate answers. What did he want to hear, the normal Kibbutz members will go nuts and attack innocent Arabs? I'd be happier to hear only reports and interpretations, but not inciting. Luckily, here the majority is sane and peace seeking, therefore it's not expected for somebody to vent their frustration on innocent people. Arabs are human being, even though it might bother some people.

בתמצית:

יום בחיי ישראלית. אני עדיין אופטימית. יהיה שלום בין עמינו על אף ולמרות הפוליטיקאים הבוחשים.

In essence

A day in an Israeli woman's life. I'm still optimistic. Peace will be between our nations despite and in spite of the shitty politicians stirring up troubles.

ערבים – שלישית מה קשור

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Trackbacks

כתיבת תגובה

