אושר עילאי

Bliss

ילדים הם שמחה ונכדים אושר עילאי Children bring hapiness and grand kids are a bliss

נכדים הם אושר עילאי Grand kids are a bliss

כיהודיה וכבת להורים ניצולי שואה נמלטי פולניה, יהיה זה מוגזם לחשוב שאחת כמוני מסוגלת לחוש אושר, שלא לדבר על עילאי. ליחס לי ולשכמותי יכולת לשמוח בלב שלם בלי שבמקביל יעיב משהו על השמחה, זו טעות גדולה ממש. נראה שהזהירות והחשש בנויות עמוק בתוך הדי אן איי שלנו, כתוצאה מדורות על גבי דורות של רדיפות את בני ובנות עמנו, עינויָם והשמדתן. הרי בכל דור ודור עומדים עלינו צוררנו לכלותנו.

As a Jew, and a daughter of holocaust survivors, refugees from Poland, it would be exaggerating to think that somebody like me could sense happiness, not to mention bliss. Relating me and alike the ability to rejoice wholeheartedly without something simultaneously shading the joy, is a really big mistake. It seems to me that caution and concern is deeply built into our DNA, as a result of countless generations of persecution my people, torturing and destroying us. Indeed, in every generation they are trying to destroy us.

אני רואה את עצמי כאשה שמחה בדרך כלל, המברכת כל בוקר את היום הנפלא והפורה העומד בפתח, אך יחד עם זאת, איני נסחפת יותר מדי. מישהי אמרה לי פעם שעלי להניח לעצמי להתפרע יותר, להשתחרר. הצחיקה אותי, משום שבמשך שלושת החודשים איתה מעולם לא ראיתיה צוחקת מכל הלב, גם לא מהבדיחות הכי מצחיקות והמוטו שלה בחיים היה: "כשרע לי – טוב לי וכשטוב לי – רע לי מאוד". מה ששעשע אותי עוד יותר, שמישהו לפניה אמרה לי שאני פרועה וחופשיה לה מדי. נו, שוין, מעולם לא היתה לי יותר מדי סבלנות למטורללות.

I see myself as a happy woman usually, who welcomes each morning the wonderful and fruitful coming day, but at the same time, I'm not being carried away too much. Somebody said to me once that I have to let myself to go wild more, to be more relaxed. She was such a lame joke, since during the three months with her I never saw her laughing with all her heart, not even from the funniest joke, and her motto in life was: "when I feel bad – I'm happy, and when I'm happy – I feel bad". What amused me more, was that somebody before her told me that I was too wild and too a free spirit for her. Well, I never had too much tolerance for nut cases.

נכדים משחקים Grandchildren playing

נכדים משחקים Grandchildren playing

אני חושבת על הפעמים בהם הייתי קרובה לתחושה של אושר, על הרגעים (הספורים!) של סיפוק ומה גרם לי לחוש מאושרת. כשילדַי באו לעולם, היו אלה בהחלט רגעים של סיפוק ואושר, משום שהם היו רצויים ואהובים. שלא יהיה ספק – יחד עם האושר, היתה גם דאגה גדולה, אי אפשר היה להפריד ביניהם.

רגעים נוספים של אושר היו כשהנכדים נולדו. גם פה, כמובן, היתה דאגה גדולה, אך גם תחושת הקלה פתאומית וקצת בלתי מובנת (שלא לדבר על בלתי מוכרת…), שיש להם הורים ואיני אחראית להם כפי שהייתי לילדַי.

I'm thinking about the times I was near to a sense of happiness, about the (few!) moments of satisfaction and what caused me to feel happy. When my children came into the world, there were certainly moments of satisfaction and happiness, since they were wanted and beloved. Not to be doubtful – along with the sense of happiness, there was also a big concern – both came together, inseparable.

More moments of happiness were when my grandchildren were born. Here, also, was a big concern, of course, but similarly a sudden and a bit incomprehensibly sense of relief (not to mention unfamiliar…), that they have parents and I'm not responsible to them as I was to my children.

נראה לי שהפעם היחידה בחיי בה חויתי תחושת אושר בלי דאגה, היתה כשהוצאתי לאור את ספרי הראשון "סגול" (הרומן הלסבי הראשון בעברית) והכתבת שראיינה אותי היתה אוהדת. כמי שמתכתבת עם עצמה כל חייה, לא דאגתי כמה ימכור ואם יאהבו את הספר; מה שהיה לי חשוב שזה יצא לאור והגשמתי חלום.

I think that the only time in my life I experienced a sense of happiness without being worried, was when I published my first novel "Sagol" (Purple, the first lesbian novel in Hebrew), and the reporter who interview me was sympathetic. As a person who correspondent with herself all her life, I wasn’t worried how many copies the book will sell and will the readers like it; what was important to me was that the book was released and I fulfilled a dream.

"Sagol" (Purple) the first lesbian novel in Hebrew

סגול הרומן הלסבי הראשון בעברית Sagol (Purple) the first lesbian novel in Hebrew

במשפט אחד:

פולניה אף פעם לא יכולה להיות ממש מאושרת, ודאי לא לחוש אושר עילאי.

In one sentence:

No Polish-Jew can ever be really happy, let alone to know what bliss is like.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

כתיבת תגובה

