לפרק את הזמן Disassembling the Time

Salvador Dalí – The Persistence of Memory (1931)

"מה דעתך לפרק את הזמן?" הציעה המלאכית.

"שו 'לפרק את הזמן'?" מאיפה הביאה זו את זה? אני בעסקי תיקונים, לא בהריסה.

"How about you disassemble the time?" Suggested the angless (this is a she angle!).

"What 'disassemble the time'?" Where did she bring it from? I'm in the repairing business, not into destroying.

"תראי, הזמן צועד (שלא לומר דוהר) כל הזמן קדימה ואי אפשר לעצור אותו; אז חשבתי שאם תפרקי את הזמן לגורמים, תוכלי אחר כך להגדיר אותם אחרת, טוב יותר."

"הממממ…" המהמתי בקול מהורהר, בוחנת את שהשמיעה. יכול להיות שיש איזשהו טעם בדבריה. היא תמיד היתה חכמה ונבונה והצעותיה סייעו לא אחת לשפר דברים ביקום.

"Look, time paces (not to mention speeds) forward all the time, and it can't be stopped; so I thought that if you would disassemble time to its elements, you could then define it differently, better."

"Hmmmm…" I hummed in a contemplative voice, examining what she said. She might have a good point here. She is wise and clever, and her suggestions did more than once help to improve things in the universe.

"את מבינה", המשיכה מעודדת מצלילתי לתוך שרעפי כדי לשקול את שהציעה, "זה יכול לשנות את היקום לטובה."

איני רואה דבר. אמנם אומרים עלי שאני בוחנת כליות ולב, אך האמת היא שאין הדבר כך ואני די מאותגרת בלגלות את הנסתר בדברי הפונים אלי. המלצתי התמידית היא לדבר ברורות ולהביא לי את הדברים בצורה בהירה ומובנת. אני שולחת אליה מבט שואל ברמיזה שתסביר ותפרט.

"You see", she continued encouraged by me sinking into my thoughts in order to consider what she suggested, "it can change the universe for the better."

I don't see a thing. Indeed, they say about me that I can see the invisible and that I know what is hidden, but the truth is that it ain't so, and I'm quite challenged with revealing the unseen in the words of those who approach to me. My constant advice is to speak clearly and bring me the issues in a clear and comprehensive manner. I give her a questioning glance hinting her to explain and elaborate.

אני רואה שמץ של אכזבה בעיניה היפות. אני מניחה שזה משום שלא ירדתי מיד לסוף דעתה. מה לעשות, גם לי יש את החולשות שלי. היא שואפת אויר מלוא ריאותיה ואני צופה (את זה אני  מסוגלת לראות) שזה לא יהיה קצר.

I see a trace of disappointment in her lovely eyes. I assume that it's because I didn't immediately got what she meant. What can I do, I have my weaknesses too. She takes a deep breath with a lot of air and I expect (this I am able to see) that it's not gonna be short.

Donald Duck: The Clock Watcher 1945

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

להשאיר תגובה

