יכול להיות יותר טוב Could be better

The Divine Comedy – A Lady of a Certain Age

ישנם אנשים שאין לי מושג למה הגיעו לחיי, מלבד להפחית מאיכותם. השאלה העיקרית שאני שואלת את עצמי בפוגשי אותם היא מה עשיתי שכך אתרע מזלי.

There are people that I have no clue why they got into my life, except of reducing its quality. The main question I ask myself when meeting them is what have I done to deserve them.

אני משתדלת להמנע מהם, אך לפעמים קורה לי שאני הולכת לתומי ברחוב, מכונסת בעצמי, בלי לצפות לפגוש בהם ואז…

"שלום, שרון, מה נשמע?"

"טוב, תודה!" אני עונה ומנסה להמשיך בדרכי. מנסיוני המר איתם, אני יודעת היטב שאסור לי לשאול אותם שום שאלה, אחרת יבולע לי.

I'm trying to avoid them, but sometimes it happens that I walk innocently, minding my own business, not expecting to meet them, but then…

"Hello, Sharon, How's things?"

"Good, thank you!" I answer and try to continue walking. From my unpleasant experience with them, I know very well that I shouldn't ask them any question, or I'd be in big trouble.

זה תמיד מתחיל ב"אל תשאלי", וגם אם אני סוכרת את פי ואיני שואלת, השטף בכל זאת מגיע. זה נמשך ב"יכול להיות יותר טוב", מה שאומר שלפני כמה שעות רעות ומבוזבזות של הרצאה מקיפה ומפורטת, כולל מראי מקומות, על מצב העומד לפני. זאת, משום שבתמימותי שאלתי לשלומו.

It always starts with "don't ask", and even if I'm holding my tongue and I do not ask, the flood comes anyway. It continues with "could be better", which means that I'm facing a few wasted hours of a comprehensive detailed lecture, including references, about the situation of the person that I innocently asked how they were doing.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

להשאיר תגובה

