לחיות בתקוה Living in Hope

Sia – Never Give Up

בית הקפה היה דליל מאנשים. יום שני, אנשים עסוקים ואין להם פנאי להתרווח יותר מדי בשעת בוקר מוקדמת זו. מתאים לי השקט הזה ואני יכולה להתרכז בכתיבה שלי.

The coffee shop was not busy. Monday, people are busy and they don't have time to relax too much at this early morning hour. Suits me, since it's quiet and it's easier for me to concentrate in my writing.

מדי פעם אני מרימה את עיני מהמסך, לוגמת מהקפה ומעיפה סביב מבט מפוזר, לא ממוקד. הקפה טעים. מניחה את הספל הריק וממשיכה לכתוב. אני אוהבת לשבת פה ולעבוד. מקלידה במרץ. הבוקר קמתי עם כמה רעיונות אותם רשמתי בפנקסי כדי לא לשכוח ועכשו אני מעבירה את כתב היד למחשב ומעבדת את הדברים. נחמד איך רעיונות גולמיים הופכים לסיפורים.

From time to time I take of my eyes from the screen, take a sip from the coffee and look around with a scattered unfocused gaze. The coffee is nice. I put down the empty cup and continue my writing. I like sitting here and work. I'm typing intensively. I woke up this morning with some ideas, I wrote them in my notebook and now I'm transferring my handwriting to the computer while processing. This silence suits me perfectly and I can concentrate in my writing.

פתאום נתקעתי במלה שלא יכולתי לכתוב. הסצנה עמדה חיה מול עיני, אך חסרה לי המלה לתאר תנועה מסוימת. אם הייתי בגפי בין כותלי ביתי, הייתי יכולה לעשות את התנועה אותה ניסיתי לתאר במלה שלא נמצאה לי. בדרך כלל זה עובד, אך לא נעים לעשות תנועות במקום פומבי. מתוסכלת, ניתקתי את עיני מהמסך, מנסה לדמיין את התנועה כדי למצוא את המלה החסרה.

Suddenly I got stuck with a word I couldn't write. The scene stood vivid in front of my eyes, but I was lack of the word to describe a certain gesture. If I was alone between my own walls, I could do this move I was trying to describe with the word that I couldn't find. Usually it works, but I'm not comfortable to make gestures in public. Frustrated, I removed my eyes from the screen, trying to imagine the gesture in order to find the missing word.

היא ישבה במרחק מספר שולחנות, מביטה הישר אל תוך עיני. נבוכה, מיהרתי להסיט את מבטי. נטלתי לידי את הנייד כדי לבדוק את ההודעות. הייתי זקוקה להסחת דעת בתקוה שהמלה החסרה לי תצוץ מאליה.

"סליחה", קולה היה רך, נעים. אהבתי את ריח הבושם הלא מוכר לי שלה. "את מזכירה לי מישהי שהכרתי פעם, אולי את היא?"

לא יכולתי שלא לחייך. "איך אני יכולה להיות היא, אם אני אני?"

היא חייכה בחזרה. "טוב, נו…" ענתה, חיוכה מתרחב. "את בטוח לא היא, כי להיא לא היה חוש הומור ולך יש, אני רואה."

She sat a few tables away, staring directly into my eyes. Embarrassed, I hurried to look away. I took my cell phone to check my messages. I needed a distraction hopping that the missing word will pop up.

"Excuse me…" her voice was soft, pleasant. I loved the scent of the perfume she wore which I wasn't familiar with. "You remind me of someone I once knew. I wonder if you are her."

I could nut smile. "How can I be her, if I am me?"

She smiled back. "Well…" she answered, her smile becomes wider. "You surely aren't her, since she didn't have a sense of humour, and I can see that you certainly have."

היא הזיחה את הכסא שלידי והתישבה. אני בהחלט מקבלת בברכה הכרויות חדשות, אך איני אוהבת נשים שתלטניות. יש לי בעיה עם כאלה החושבות שהן יכולות לפלוש למרחב הפרטי שלי ללא בקשת רשות. איך אומרים למאן דהיא שלא מתאים לי עכשו?

She moved the chair near me and sat down. I certainly do welcome new acquaintances, but I don't like bossy women. I have a problem with people who think they can invade my personal space without asking for permission. How do I say to somebody that it's not appropriate for me right now?

ארשת פני הסגירה מן הסתם את שאשר על לבי. "אני מקוה שאינני מפריעה לך", אמרה בקולה הרך, "אשמח להכיר אותך."

"האמת, אני עסוקה כרגע. יש לי לפחות עוד שעה של עבודה."

"אני מבינה", ענתה קצרות.

יכולתי לראות שהיא מאוכזבת. "ראי", אמרתי, מנסה לרכך את המצב הלא נעים, "אולי תשאירי לי את מספר הטלפון שלך ואצלצל אלייך מאוחר יותר?"

The expression on my face probably revealed my thought. What can I say, I wear my heart on my sleeves… "I hope that I'm not disturbing you", she said in her soft voice, "I'd like to make your acquaintance."

"To be honest, I'm busy right now. I have at least an hour to work."

"I see", she answered concisely.

I could see that she is disappointed. "Well", I said, trying to soften the unpleasant situation, "perhaps you'd like to leave your number and I'll call you later?"

היא הביטה בי במבט ממושך מאוד (הן כולן מביטות בי כך כל הזמן), קמה על רגליה ואמרה בקול שקט: "אני חיה בתקוה, זה מה שאני עושה כל החיים שלי."

She stared at me for a very long time (they all stare at me like this all the time), then stood up and said quietly: "I live in hope, that's what I do my whole life."

הבטתי אחר גבה המתרחק, תוהה בלבי אם ניחשה שאין בדעתי להתקשר.

I looked at her withdrawing back, wondering if she guessed that I wasn't gonna call.

Florence + the Machine – Never Let Me Go

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Trackbacks

להשאיר תגובה

