ההסטוריה של הסלט The History of the Salad

 

סלט ירקות עם פטריות שלמות Vegetable salad with whole mushrooms

סלט ירקות עם פטריות שלמות    Vegetable salad with whole mushrooms

ישנם דברים המוטמעים אצלנו עמוק, כאלה שאין ביכולתנו להשתחרר מהם. איני בטוחה עד כמה הם גרועים. אולי בעיני המתבוננת, אך לא בעיני. יכול להיות שהתרגלתי, וזה בסדר מבחינתי.

Some things are deeply assimilated within us, such things which we can't be freed of. I'm not sure how much bad they are. Perhaps in the eyes of the beholder, but not in mine. Could be that I got used to it, and it's OK as far as I'm concerned.

שביעי של פסח. אנחנו חוגגים בכיף ובשמחה, האוכל בשפע, היין נמזג ונשתה כמים. אחת הפעמים הבודדות שאני מרשה לעצמי להתיר רסן ולא לספור את כמות האלכוהול שאני מערה אל קרבי. כל מוזמן ומוזמנת הביא כמויות אדירות מן המנות שהכין, כל אחת והספציאליטה שלה. אני הכנתי לביבות תפוחי אדמה האהובות עלי, בתוספת קמח מצה, אך בלי ביצים. איני צורכת ביצים. המתכון בסוף הרשומה.

Seventh day of Passover. We celebrate happily and joyfully, the food is plentiful, the wine is poured and drank like water. One of the rare events that I allow myself to unleash any restrains [the bridle] without counting the amount of alcohol I pour into me. Each guest brought a huge amount of the dish they made, each one and her specialty. I made my favoured potato latkes, with matzah flour (so it's kosher for Pessach), but without eggs. I don't eat eggs. The recipe is at the bottom of this post.

 

בסוף הארוחה, נאסף האוכל שנותר חזרה אל תוך הכלים בהם הובא וכל אחד מקבל את הכלי שלו עם מה שנשאר מהמאכל שלו. הפעם, נראה שתאבון המסובין היה רב, משום שלא נשאר הרבה מן המאכלים, רק כמה סלטים. אני עומדת בתור אל המארחת כדי לקחת חזרה את הכלי שלי. שום לביבה לא נשארה, אפילו לא אחת. אין דבר, אכין מחר עוד אם עדיין יתחשק לי.

At the end of the meal, the remained food is collected back into the bowls it was brought, and each guest gets their dishes back with what had left of their dish. This time, it seems that the feasters' appetite was big, since not much has left from the food, only a few salads. I'm queuing up, waiting for my turn to get my bowl from the hostess. No latke remained, even not one. Never mind, I'll make more tomorrow if I'd still feel like it.

ישנם דברים המוטמעים אצלנו עמוק, כאלה שאין ביכולתנו להשתחרר מהם. איני בטוחה עד כמה הם גרועים. אולי בעיני המתבוננת, אך לא בעיני. יכול להיות שהתרגלתי, וזה בסדר מבחינתי.

Some things are deeply assimilated within us, such things which we can't be freed of. I'm not sure how much bad they are. Perhaps in the eyes of the beholder, but not in mine. Could be that I got used to it, and it's OK as far as I'm concerned.

שביעי של פסח. אנחנו חוגגים בכיף ובשמחה, האוכל בשפע, היין נמזג ונשתה כמים. אחת הפעמים הבודדות שאני מרשה לעצמי להתיר רסן ולא לספור את כמות האלכוהול שאני מערה אל קרבי. כל מוזמן ומוזמנת הביא כמויות אדירות מן המנות שהכין, כל אחת והספציאליטה שלה. אני הכנתי לביבות תפוחי אדמה האהובות עלי, בתוספת קמח מצה, אך בלי ביצים. איני צורכת ביצים. המתכון בסוף הרשומה.

Seventh day of Passover. We celebrate happily and joyfully, the food is plentiful, the wine is poured and drank like water. One of the rare events that I allow myself to unleash any restrains [the bridle] without counting the amount of alcohol I pour into me. Each guest brought a huge amount of the dish they made, each one and her specialty. I made my favoured potato latkes, with matzah flour (so it's kosher for Pessach), but without eggs. I don't eat eggs. The recipe is at the bottom of this post.

בסוף הארוחה, נאסף האוכל שנותר חזרה אל תוך הכלים בהם הובא וכל אחד מקבל את הכלי שלו עם מה שנשאר מהמאכל שלו. הפעם, נראה שתאבון המסובין היה רב, משום שלא נשאר הרבה מן המאכלים, רק כמה סלטים. אני עומדת בתור אל המארחת כדי לקחת חזרה את הכלי שלי. שום לביבה לא נשארה, אפילו לא אחת. אין דבר, אכין מחר עוד אם עדיין יתחשק לי.

At the end of the meal, the remained food is collected back into the bowls it was brought, and each guest gets their dishes back with what had left of their dish. This time, it seems that the feasters' appetite was big, since not much has left from the food, only a few salads. I'm queuing up, waiting for my turn to get my bowl from the hostess. No latke remained, even not one. Never mind, I'll make more tomorrow if I'd still feel like it.

אחת המסובות, המכירה היטב את אורחותי, מקבלת מידי המארחת את הכלי שלה עם מה שנשאר מהסלט שהכינה. בלי אומר וללא כל שהות, היא מושיטה לי את הכלי. גם אני מכירה את אורחותיה ויודעת שלמרות שהיא דור שני לניצולי שואה, הוריה לא הנחילו לה את שהורי הנחילו לי והיא לא תאכל את הסלט הזה. כל מאכל שאינו נאכל לאלתר, נזרק על ידה מיד אל פח האשפה. פעם, חשבתי לפתוח אצלה בית תמחוי מהשאריות שהיא זורקת. עד שהספקתי להפוך ברעיון ולתכנן את התוכנית המתאימה, היא זרקה אותי, כך שזה לא יצא אל הפועל. המוני רעבים היו יכולים לצאת שבעים ממה שהיא זורקת. חבל.

One of the guests who knows my ways very well, receives her bowl from the hostess with what's left of the salad she made. Without a word and with no hesitation, she hands me her dish. I too know her ways very well, and know that despite of her being second generation of the holocaust survivors, her parents didn't bequeath her what mine did, and she won't eat this salad. Any food that hasn't been eaten straightaway is being thrown immediately into the bin. Once, I even thought about opening a soup kitchen from the leftovers she dumps to the garbage. Until I had the time to consider this idea and come up with the proper plan, she dumped me, so the plan didn't come through. Multitudes of hungry people could be satisfied with what she throws away. Alas.

סלט ירקות עם קישוטי גזר וזיתים Vgeetable salad with carrot and olives

סלט ירקות עם קישוטי גזר וזיתים   Vegetable salad with carrot and olives

המארחת נותנת בנו במבט מוזר. אני מניחה שהיא לא נתקלה בפרץ כזה של נדיבות מצד המכרה המשותפת שלנו ופניה מביעות את שלבה רוחש. אני חשה לפתור לה את התעלומה. "זו הסטוריה, מה שאת רואה פה", אני מסכמת בקצרה מגילה שלמה. פניה הופכות לאי הבנה אחת גדולה. אני מבינה שהיא אינה מכירה את אורחותיה של הלה, כמוני, ולכן אני מרחיבה את היריעה: "היא אינה מסוגלת לאכול מאכל שלא הוכן במיידי, ואני איני מסוגלת לראות אוכל נזרק לפח, כך שכדי ששתינו נהיה מסופקות – בעיקר אני, שיהיה לי מספיק סלט לכמה ארוחות – היא נתנה לי את הקערה." ההבנה על פניה של המארחת נחתה במיידי. יכולתי לדמיין אותן מפיקות אנחת רווחה. שמחתי לתרום להקלתה.

The hostess stares at us strangely. I assume that she haven't experienced such a burst of generosity from our mutual friend, and her face expresses what her heart feels. I hasten to solve the mystery. "This is history, what you see here", I shorten a long Megile. Her face turns into a big misunderstanding. I understand that she doesn't know the ways of that person like I do; therefore, I explain at length: "She can't bring herself to eat food that wasn't just made, and I can't see food being tossed into the bin, thus that we both will be satisfied – especially me, as I'll have enough salad for a few meals – she gave me her bowl." The comprehension on the hostess face landed instantaneously. I could imagine how they produce a sigh of relief. I was happy to contribute to her wellbeing.

סלט ירקות ומצות Vegetable salad with matzot

סלט ירקות ומצות    Vegetable salad with matzot

חזרתי הביתה שמחה ומאושרת. מסתבר, שנמצאו עוד כמה נשמות טובות שאינן מסוגלות לעכל אוכל הסטורי והן שמחו לתרום לי ממעדניהן. התא המקפיא במקרר שלי מלא עד אפס מקום באוכל שיספיק לי עד תום ספירת העומר. נראה מה אעלה בחכתי בחג השבועות.

I came back home pleased and happy. It turned out that more good souls couldn't digest historical food and they were happy to donate me their delicacies. The freezer in my fridge has no more room; it is filled up with enough food until the end of Counting of the Omer. Let's see what I will collect in Shavuot.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

כתיבת תגובה

