המתדלק The Refueler




קשת Rainbow

קשת בחורף קר   A rainbow in a cold winter

 

סיפור חורף קצר מאת שרון הר פז

A short winter's tale by Sharon Har Paz

החורף הגיע שוב אחרי הפוגה הגונה לְמַדַּי. כל השבוע זה הראה סימנים והחזאים אמרו שאו-טו-טו, בסוף השבוע, תהיה סערה. הפעם זה נראה רציני. רוית אומרת שעכשו היא מרגישה בן אדם ואני חושבת לעצמי שאולי היא תעז לעזוב את הארון הממוזג והנוח הזה שלה ותצא אל החיים…

Winter has arrived again after a fairly decent respite. All week it showed signs and the forecasters said that in a jiffy, at the end of the week, there would be a storm. This time it looks serious. Ravit says that now she feels like a wuman being and I think to myself that maybe she will dare to leave this comfortable air-conditioned closet of hers and go out into life…

הקור בקציר מקפיא. אני יודעת שישנם מקומות קרים הרבה יותר, לדוגמא סיביר, לונדון, ברלין… אבל מבחינתי, בטמפרטורה של פחות מ-28 מעלות חום, אני לא מרגישה טוב, אפילו המחשבות קופאות לי. אין ברירה. צריך לסדר את ההסקה, להזמין סולר. הוצאות בהחלט מיותרות לוא חייתי במדבר. הייתי רוצה לגור במקום חם, על חוף אוקיינוס, גלים ניתזים אלי במנגינה ערֵבה… זוכרת שאמרתי לך שיש בי צורך לצעוק לכל העולם שאני אוהבת אותך? מבט מפוחד עלה על פנייך ומיהרת להתרות בי שרק אם נהיה לבד על חוף אוקיינוס נידח, תרשי לי לעשות זאת. מאז, מים רבים זרמו וכיבו את אהבתך. מאז, אינני יודעת את נפשי.

The cold in Katzir is freezing. I know there are much colder places, for example Siberia, London, Berlin… but for me, at a temperature of less than 28 degrees, I don't feel well, even my thoughts freeze on me. I have no choice. I need to fix the heating, order diesel fuel. Definitely unnecessary expenses if I lived in the desert. I would like to live in a warm place, on an ocean beach, waves splashing at me with a pleasant tune… Remember I told you that I felt a need to shout to the whole world that I love you? A frightened look came over your face and you hurried to warn me that only if we were alone on a remote ocean shore, you might let me do it. Since then, many waters have flowed and extinguished your love. Since then, I am not myself.

המתדלק מגיע ועושה לי עיניים. "מוחמד", הוא מציג את עצמו ומושיט אלי את ידו ללחיצה. לא ממש בא לי, אך גם אינני רוצה להעליבו. נראה איש נחמד, אך לי הוא לא מזיז כלום.

The refueler comes and makes eyes at me. "Mohammed", he introduces himself and holds out his hand for me to shake. I don't really feel like it, but I don't want to offend him either. He seems like a nice man, but I couldn't care less.

"אִישְׁרַאבּ אֶל אָהוֶה?" אני מזמינה אותו לקפה. הוא מהנהן ומספר לי על עצמו: גָרוש למעלה משנתיים ומקונן שלא טוב היות האדם לבדו. אני מביעה את הסכמתי האוהדת והלה מפרש זאת כהזמנה למחול החיזור… הוא מספר לי בגאוה שהסתדר, קנה בית, ריהט, קישט ועכשו הוא מחפש בת זוג. בעצם, אולי כבר לא, כי הוא מקוה שמצא. אני בהחלט נראית לו, הוא חש שיש בינינו משהו ולא מפריע לו שיש עלי שלוש שנים לפניו. "אף אחד לא קבע שאשה לא יכולה להיות יותר מבוגרת מהגבר", הוא מכריז במין נדיבות ומן הסתם רואה עצמו כַּאֲבִּיר שלי על הסוס הערבי האציל.

"Ishraab el Ahweh?" I invite him for coffee. He nods and tells me about himself: divorced for over two years, and laments that it is not good for a man to be alone. I express my sympathetic approving, and he interprets this as an invitation to the courtship dance… Proudly, he tells me that he managed to get along, bought a house, furnished, decorated, and now he is looking for a spouse. Actually, maybe not anymore, because he hopes he has found. I definitely look like suitable for him, he feels that there is something between us and it doesn't bother him that I am three years ahead of him. "No one has determined that a woman cannot be older than a man," he declares with a kind of generosity and probably sees himself as my knight on the noble Arabian horse.

אני מביטה בו. יכול להיות שגם הוא תקוע ובוחר לחזר דוקא אחרי מי שאינה מתאימה לו? הוא טועה בפירוש שתיקתי הממושכת ושונֶה: "אני מחפש בת זוג לחיים." הוא קם על רגליו, מנסה להתקרב אלי. רק שלא יגע בי, פן אקיא, אני מעלה שריון עבה על עצמי. אטום לסביבתו, הוא מושיט אלי את זרועותיו בנסיון מגושם לחבקני.

מה יש לי להפסיד, אני שואלת את עצמי. כל קציר כבר יודעת שאני לסבית, אז בעוד שעה יֵדַע גם כל כפר קרע. מה, לא ימכרו לי שם יותר? "שב", אני אומרת לו בתקיפות, מרחיקה עצמי מתחום מגעו הצפוי. "יש לי משהו להגיד לך. אמרת שאתה מחפש בת זוג. גם אני! מחפשת בת זוג."

I look at him. Could it be that he is also stuck and chooses to court someone who is not suitable for him? He misinterprets my long silence and repeats: "I'm looking for a life partner." He gets up, tries to get closer to me. As long as he doesn't touch me, lest I vomit, I put a thick armour on myself. Sealed to his surroundings, he extends his arms to me in a clumsy attempt to hug me.

What have I got to lose, I ask myself. All of Katzir already knows I'm a lesbian, so in an hour, all of Kfar Kara will know too. What, they won't sell me there anymore? "Sit down," I say to him firmly, moving myself far away from his expected contact. "I have something to tell you. You said you were looking for a woman spouse. Me too! Looking for a woman spouse."

עיניו נדלקות. "אז נוכל להיות חברים?" הוא שואל בתקוה ומציע: "נוכל לצאת לבלות, קפה, מסעדה, סרט…" שוב הוא קם על רגליו. שוב מושטות זרועותיו לקראתי. מתלהב זה!

"שב!" אני עוצרת בעדו וממהרת לצנן אותו, "לא נראה לי שהבנת אותי. אני מחפשת בת זוג, לא בן זוג, א-ש-ה, אלף-שין-הא", אני מאייתת לו אף שאני בספק אם יודע הלה להבחין בין האותיות העבריות, "לא גבר!"

His eyes light up. "So can we be friends?" He asks hopefully and offers: "We can go out to hang out, coffee, a restaurant, a movie…" He gets up to his feet again. Again, his arms are extending towards me. He looks excited!

"Sit down!" I stop him and hasten to cool him down, "I don't think you understood me. I'm looking for a woman spouse, not a man, e-sha, e-sha (w-o-m-a-n in Hebrew)", I spell it out to him, even though I doubt whether he can distinguish between the Hebrew letters, "Not a man!"

עיניו פקוחות עכשו לרווחה. "אַת… אֶה…" המשך המשפט נשאר אצלו.

כן, אני אֶה… אני חושבת לעצמי. לא רע, האסימון ירד לו מהר, וואלה! הוא מקפל את זנבו באלגנטיות ונסוג.

הבית מתחיל להתחמם. נעים לי. אפילו שרֵיק, אפילו שעדיין מחכה לָךְ…

His eyes are now wide open. "You… eh…" the rest of the sentence stayed with him.

Yes, I eh… I think to myself. Not bad, the penny dropped quickly, wow! He folds his tail elegantly and retreats.

The house is getting warm. It feels pleasant. Even if it's empty, even if I'm still waiting for you…

פרסם תגובה או השאר עקבות: Trackback URL.

טרקבאקים

כתיבת תגובה

אתר זו עושה שימוש ב-Akismet כדי לסנן תגובות זבל. פרטים נוספים אודות איך המידע מהתגובה שלך יעובד.