ורוד לא הצבע שלי Pink is not my colour

 

 

Pink is not my colour

Once upon a time, before social networks, before the technology was developed where you could see the candidate face to face, there was no choice but to meet blind. I'm glad we made progress. The phone calls had their own charm, as did the long letters we exchanged between us before arranging to meet face to face. There was craving, patiently waiting, nothing burned for us, there was no rush. Life moved slowly. In our case, we met by chance.

The plane runs down the runway at speed, picks up speed and then takes off. My stomach sinks. 'Why did I need it?' I resented myself, imagining the scene where the shift manager offered me to accompany the base's mail on the flight to Rephidim. I had never flown before and thought it would be an experience. I even got excited and planned how I would sit by the window and look out at the sky and the ground below. I did not imagine that the mail is flown in a plane from which parachuters jump, whose seats are arranged in two rows along its sides.

"You look pale, don't you feel well?" Her hand on my arm trying to soothe.

I shook my head from side to side, trying to stop the nausea rising in me, hinting to her about my situation. She took the water bottle from her belt, screwed on the cap and handed it to me. "Here, drink, it will help you".

"Thanks!" The words came out of my mouth with difficulty.

She rested her hand on my arm. I felt my skin quiver. An hour of cruising between heaven and earth, of getting to know each other, of mutual affection. We exchanged addresses. The landing was easier for me, maybe because she held my hand and stroked my back. A few hours after landing, I was already on my way back to the centre. She stayed at her base.

I had a fiery red letterhead with very bright green lines, on which I expressed my thoughts and feelings to her. She wrote to me on pink paper with grey lines, decorated at the edges with white flowers. Pink is not a colour I like. Red is my favorite colour, but I didn't think to make it an issue. Her letters were very interesting and I keep them to this day in a pink folder. This is the colour that was in the store at the time besides black, which I avoid with all my might, so I bought it. The universe, obviously, has its own ways.

Time moved on. The distance between our bases did not allow us to meet and we had to make do with letters which dwindled as the phone calls between us became more frequent. Luckily, they were made from the military phone during our quiet shifts, because calls from civilian phones were very expensive. There is something special about exchanging words and feelings with someone faceless on the other end of the line, whom you have only met once and during the conversation you cannot see her and neither can she see you. It's like you are talking to yourself, even if it is to a certain someone. The few photos we exchanged between us in letters did not move, so the memory that faded with the passing time made it difficult to imagine what she looks like now.

The war caught us on the verge of being released from the army. She was evacuated from her base in Sinai and assigned to serve in Be'er Sheva. I was in the centre. The phone calls were rare and we barely had time to update each other with basic things about how we were doing and how we were feeling. It was no longer possible to call each other during the shift and have long, intimate conversations, so the public phone remained, with behind you a long line of soldiers who also wished to voice their words in the ears of those they loved and to hear what the other side is going through.

During one of the breaks, we got a short leave at the same time. We both thought it was a miracle and a sign that heaven arranged for us to meet. At that time, a café or restaurant was not an option. A public garden, a bench near the blossoming of the plumeria tree whose scent intoxicated the senses.

I wore a denim skirt and a white buttoned shirt. She wore a pink suit. Pink is not my colour.

Today it will not happen.

 

ורוד לא הצבע שלי

פעם, מלפני הרשתות החברתיות, בטרם פותחה הטכנולוגיה בה יכולתְ לראות פנים אל פנים את המועמדת, לא היתה ברירה אלא להפגש על עיוור. אני שמחה שהתקדמנו. לשיחות הטלפון היה קסם משלהן, כמו גם למכתבים הארוכים שהחלפנו בינינו בטרם קבענו להפגש פנים אל פנים. היתה חמדה, ציפיה סבלנית, שום דבר לא בער לנו. החיים נעו לאט. במקרה שלנו, נפגשנו במקרה.

המטוס רץ על המסלול במהירות, תופס תאוצה ואז מתרומם. הבטן שלי שוקעת. 'למה הייתי צריכה את זה?' התרעמתי על עצמי, מעלה בעיני רוחי את הסצנה שבה אחראית המשמרת הציעה לי ללוות את הדואר של הבסיס בטיסה לרפידים. לא טסתי לפני כן וחשבתי שזו תהיה חויה. אפילו התרגשתי ותכננתי איך אשב ליד החלון ואשקיף ממנו אל השמיים ואל האדמה שמתחת. לא העליתי על דעתי שמטיסים את הדואר במטוס ממנו צונחים, שמושביו מסודרים בשתי שורות לאורך דפנותיו.

"את נראית חיוורת, את לא מרגישה טוב?" ידה על זרועי מנסה להרגיע.

הנדתי בראשי מצד לצד, מנסה לבלום את הקבס העולה בי, רומזת לה על מצבי. היא הוציאה את המימיה מחגורתה, הבריגה את הפקק והושיטה אלי. "הנה, שתי, זה יעזור לך."

"תודה!" יצאו המלים מפי בקושי.

היא משהה את ידה על זרועי. אני חשה את עורי מצטמרר. שעה של שיוט בין שמיים וארץ, של התוודעות זו אל זו, של חיבה הדדית. החלפנו כתובות. הנחיתה היתה לי קלה יותר, אולי משום שהיא החזיקה לי את היד וליטפה לי את הגב. שעות ספורות לאחר הנחיתה, הייתי כבר בדרכי חזרה למרכז. היא נשארה בבסיסה.

היה לי נייר מכתבים אדום לוהט עם שורות בצבע ירוק עז גם הוא, עליהן שטחתי בפניה את נפשי וַהֲגִיגַי. היא כתבה לי על נייר ורוד, מעוטר בשוליו בפרחים לבנים עם שורות בצבע אפור. ורוד זה לא צבע שאני אוהבת. אדום זה הצבע האהוב עלי, אבל לא חשבתי לעשות מזה ענין. המכתבים שלה היו מעניינים מאוד ואני שומרת אותם עד היום בתוך תיקיה ורודה. זה הצבע שהיה אז בחנות מלבד שחור, ממנו אני נמנעת בכל מאודי, אז קניתי. ליקום, מן הסתם, דרכים משלו.

הזמן התקדם. המרחק בין הבסיסים שלנו לא איפשר לנו להפגש ונאלצנו להסתפק במכתבים שהתמעטו ככל ששיחות הטלפון בינינו הלכו ותכפו. מזל שהן נעשו מהטלפון הצבאי במהלך המשמרות הרגועות שלנו, כי השיחות באזרחי היו יקרות מאוד. יש משהו מיוחד בהחלפת מלים ורגשות עם מישהי חסרת פנים מהצד השני של הקו, אותה פגשת אך פעם אחת ובזמן השיחה אינך יכולה לראותה וגם היא לא אותך. את כאילו מדברת עם עצמך, אף שזה אל מישהי מסוימת. התמונות הספורות אותן החלפנו בינינו במכתבים, לא נעו, כך שהזכרון שהתעמעם עם הזמן החולף היקשה על היכולת לדמיין איך היא נראית עכשו.

המלחמה תפסה אותנו על סף השחרור מהצבא. היא פונתה מבסיסה בסיני והוצבה לשרת בבאר שבע. אני הייתי במרכז. שיחות הטלפון היו נדירות ובקושי הספקנו לעדכן זו את זו בדברים בסיסיים של מה שלומנו ואיך אנחנו מרגישות. אי אפשר היה כבר להתקשר זו לזו בזמן המשמרת ולנהל שיחות ארוכות, אינטימיות, כך שנשאר הטלפון הציבורי, כשמאחורייך תור ארוך של חיילות וחיילים שייחלו אף הם להשמיע את דבריהם באוזני אלו שאהבו ולשמוע מה עובר על הצד השני.

באחת ההפוגות, קיבלנו חופשה קצרה במקביל. שתינו חשבנו שזה נס וסימן שמשמיים סידרו לנו להפגש. בתקופה ההיא, בית קפה או מסעדה לא היו אופציה. גן ציבורי, ספסל ליד פריחת עץ הפיטנה שריחו שיכר את החושים.

אני לבשתי חצאית ג'ינס וחולצה לבנה מכופתרת. היא לבשה חליפה ורודה. ורוד לא הצבע שלי.

היום זה לא יקרה.

פרסם תגובה או השאר עקבות: Trackback URL.

תגובות

כתיבת תגובה

אתר זו עושה שימוש ב-Akismet כדי לסנן תגובות זבל. פרטים נוספים אודות איך המידע מהתגובה שלך יעובד.