תחושה של יום ששי  A Sense of Friday

קתרין יאנג – איך נוצרים זכרונות ואיך אנו מאבדים אותם (בתרגום לעברית)

Catharine Young – How memories form and how we lose them

התעוררתי אתמול בבוקר בתחושה שזה יום ששי. אין לי מושג למה זה קורה, אך מדי פעם מתחלפים לי הימים. מקוה שזה אינו סימן להתדרדרות מנטלית.

I woke up yesterday morning feeling it was Friday. I have no idea why this is happening, but every now and then my days get mixed up. I hope this is not a sign of mental deterioration.

כל היום התנהל לי בהתאם לתחושה של יום ששי. זו תחושה די מעצבנת כשאת יודעת שהיום אינו זה שאת חשה שהוא, אלא יום אחר. מספר פעמים הייתי צריכה להזכיר לעצמי שזה יום שלישי ולא ששי. אני מקוה מאוד שאין זה מבשר התדרדרות דמנטית. אין לי כח להתמודד עם דבר כזה.

The whole day was conducted for me according to the sense of Friday. It's a pretty annoying feeling when you know that the day is not what you feel it is, but a different day. Several times I had to remind myself that it was Tuesday and not Friday. I very much hope this is not a harbinger of dementia. I have no strength to deal with such a thing.

"היי", התקשרה אלי חברה אחר הצהריים, ממש לפני שהתעתדתי לצאת כדי לצלם את השיפוצים בבית הספר שליד ביתי. "אני יוצאת עוד מעט לקניות, רוצה לבוא?"

אני נוטה להסכים לרגע ואז נזכרת שזה לא יום שמתאים לי, שיום שלישי היום והמצרכים עדיין לא נגמרו. "תכננתי לעשות זאת ביום ששי", אני עונה. דממה בצד השני. אני שומעת אותה נושמת בכבדות-מה. "מה?" אני שואלת, "את בסדר?"

אני שומעת את אנחת ההשלמה שלה בהשתתפות בצערי. "שרון, יום חמישי היום, מחר ששי", היא אומרת בקול שמביע רחמים, "שכחת? מה משנה לך עוד יום? עדיף לקנות היום במקום מחר עם הקהל שמצטופף."

הפעם תורי להשמיע אנחה מתאימה. "חבר'ה, כל המחלקה מתבקשת לעמוד בשלשות עם הפנים לקיר ולהתעשת!" אני מורה לה. היא מתחילה לצחוק. "מה את צוחקת?" אני מתפלאת.

"מהשטויות שלך", קולה רווי עדיין בצחקוקים.

"Hi," a friend called me in the afternoon, just before I was due to go out to photograph the renovations at the school near my building. "I'm going shopping in a little while, do you want to join me?"

I tend to agree for a moment and then remember that this is not a day that suits me, that it's Tuesday and I didn't run out of groceries yet. "I planned to do it on Friday," I reply. Silence on the other side. I hear her breathing a bit heavily. "What?" I ask, "are you okay?"

I hear her sigh of acceptance with sympathy for my problem. "Sharon, it's Thursday today, tomorrow Friday," she says in a voice expressing pity, "did you forget? What does another day matter to you? It's better to buy today instead of tomorrow with the packed crowd."

This time it's my turn to make a proper sigh. "Guys, the whole platoon is being asked to stand in threes with your faces to the wall and get your act together!" I instruct her. She starts laughing. "What are you laughing at?" I'm amazed.

"From your nonsense," her voice is still saturated with giggles.

אחרי שנאבקתי כל היום לזכור את היום הנכון, לא התכוונתי לוותר. פתחתי את יומני ואכן, היה כתוב שזה יום שלישי. יום לפני כן היה שני, בו יצאתי אחר הצהריים לצלם את התמונות לתערוכה הקרובה. זכרוני התגבר מרגע לרגע. "זוכרת את היומן שנתתי לך בתחילת השנה?" שאלתי. "את עוד משתמשת בו?"

היתה שוב דממה בצד השני, מן הסתם ניסתה להזכר היכן שמה אותו. "רגע", אמרה. שמעתי אותה מניחה את הטלפון. איננו סוחבות אותו איתנו לכל מקום כמו הדור הצעיר. אחר כך, היו קולות של תזוזה, מה שאומר שהיא הלכה להביא את היומן. רבות מאלו שאני מכירה אינן משתמשות ביומן של הטלפון, משום שאיננו מעונינות שגוגל או אאוטלוק תדענה את סדר היום שלנו. אין לנו ענין בהפצצתן אותנו ללא הרף בפרסומות.

After struggling all day to remember the correct day, I was not going to give up. I opened my diary and indeed, it was written that it was Tuesday. The day before was Monday, when I went out in the afternoon to take the photos for the upcoming exhibition. My memory grew stronger every minute. "Remember the diary I gave you in the beginning of this year?" I asked. "Are you still using it?"

Again, there was silence on the other side, probably she was trying to remember where she had put it. "Wait," she said. I heard her putting the phone down. We do not carry it with us everywhere like the younger generation. Then, there were sounds of movement, which means she went to get the diary. Many of those I know don't use the phone's diary because we don't want Google or Outlook to know our agenda. We have no interest in constantly being bombarded with commercials.

שמעתי אותה חוזרת ומרימה את הטלפון. קולה היה די שפוף. "את צודקת", הודתה, "היום יום שלישי. לא יודעת מה קרה לי, אבל קמתי עם תחושה של יום חמישי ועשיתי את הדברים שאני עושה בימי חמישי. הרמתי את כל הבית וניקיתי את המקרר לקראת מילויו בקניות שתכננתי."

"לא נורא", ניסיתי לנחם אותה, "לפחות יש לך מקרר נקי. לא תצטרכי לנקות ביום חמישי."

"המקרר אינו מדאיג אותי", אמרה בקול שהכאב נשמע בו היטב, "מה שמדאיג אותי זה הזכרון הדפוק שלי. זה נורא!"

"מה את רוצה?" שוב אני מנסה לנחמה, "אני התעוררתי עם תחושה של יום ששי, אבל הבטתי ביומן כדי לוודא שזה אכן היום הנכון ונוכחתי לדעת שלא. למרות זאת, התחושה הזו התלוותה אלי במשך כל היום והייתי צריכה להאבק ולהחזיר את עצמי למציאות. זה מה שקורה בגילנו. אני רק מקוה שזו הבעיה היחידה והזכרון לא יתדרדר עוד יותר. לא מתאים לי להיות גא-גא. לא עכשו ולא בעתיד."

I heard her coming back and picking up the phone. Her voice was quite sad. "You're right," she admitted, "today is Tuesday. I don't know what happened to me, but I got up with a sense of Thursday and did the things I do on Thursdays. I did up the whole house and cleaned the fridge in order to fill it up with the shopping I had planned."

"Never mind," I tried to comfort her, "at least you have a clean fridge. You won't have to clean on Thursday."

"The fridge does not worry me," she said in a voice that the pain sounded very clearly in it, "what worries me is my fucked-up memory. It's awful!"

"What do you want?" Again, I try to comfort her, "I woke up with a sense of Friday, but I looked in the diary to make sure it was indeed the right day, and I was proven it's not. Even so, that feeling accompanied me all day and I had to struggle and bring myself back to reality. That's what happens at our age. I just hope this is the only problem and the memory will not deteriorate further. It doesn't suit me to be Ga-Ga. Not now or in the future."

Catharine Young – A Toolkit for Your Lazy Brain

במשפט אחד:

היא יצאה לקניות, אני יצאתי לצלם את השיפוצים.

In one sentence:

She went shopping, I went out to photograph the renovations.

פרסם תגובה או השאר עקבות: Trackback URL.

כתיבת תגובה

אתר זו עושה שימוש ב-Akismet כדי לסנן תגובות זבל. פרטים נוספים אודות איך המידע מהתגובה שלך יעובד.